STREET LIGHTS IN KARACHI AREAS: PAKISTAN, WHERE IS THE LIGHT?

12 Jun

STREET LIGHTS IN KARACHI AREAS: PAKISTAN, WHERE IS THE LIGHT?

“Arey chor chaar ke apney Saleem ki gali, Anarkali bulb laganey chali!”

Did I just include a Bollywood item song in my post? Yes, I did!

I’m not exactly sure where Anarkali resides within the numerous neighbourhoods that are oozing out in the perimeters of Karachi, but I’m sure she’s frustrated by the ‘street light’s or rather “lack of street lights” in the city. Two consecutive nights I drove in the surrounding areas of Gulistan-e-Johar and I found it rather distracting that I literally had to peek at the windscreen to make sure that someone’s not crossing the death-awakening corners of narrow streets.

It doesn’t help when you’re one of those drivers that multi-task, that is “drive and cuss”. Since I’m one of those people who drives rarely and swears enough to compensate for the 360 days that I haven’t driven, the issue of street lights bothers me even more. Not that there weren’t enough issues to bring out into the limelight, for instance there’s the ever going friction between electricity and the masses.

The Electrical Supply Companies that act as demi-gods in our part of the world make life harder, but regardless of that we need street lights. Let’s put that taxation to good: Government.  Most of our plans rely on the avaliablity of electricity, whether it concerns dinner times or the repeat telecasts of favourite shows.

We need street lights down here, or else people will be at the risk of driving over other people and especially children. Oftentimes when I’ve been driving at night, my neighbourhood’s isolated and creepy looking streets almost promise an upcoming fatality. This sense of trouble can be avoided, only if there was more light to see where the pedestrians are wandering off.

Enough of my rants for street lights, back to dinner!

3 Responses to “STREET LIGHTS IN KARACHI AREAS: PAKISTAN, WHERE IS THE LIGHT?”

  1. heart2woman June 12, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

    Reblogged this on Crimes of being a woman and commented:

    Read up on my post about lack of street lights in Karachi, Pakistan! 🙂

  2. Writes2escape June 14, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    WORD!

Leave a Reply

